Teaching awards

Applications and Nominations

The ANU College of Asia & the Pacific Teaching Awards for 2017 will be opening for nominations from the 1st to the 31st of August 2017.

When nominations are open all staff and students within the College will be notified and provided with the link to the Apollo nomination form. During the opening perod, if you know an excellent teacher, please nominate them here.

Once nominations close, all nominees will be contacted and encouraged to formally apply. The due date for applications this year is the 30th of September 2017.

We are currently in the process of enhancing the nomination and application process, so please be aware that this page will be updated shortly with further information and updated supporting documents.  

Awards and prizes

The ANU College of Asia and the Pacific Teaching Awards were initiated in 2007 to recognise and encourage excellence in both coursework teaching and research supervision within the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific. In 2017, these are following awards that are being offered by the College.

Wattle Award is by nomination only.

To see general information and/or eligibility and selection criteria and apply for each award please click on the relevant award link above.

A $1,000 prize is awarded in each category.

Award process

Nominations - CAP staff and students are encouraged to nominate a convener, tutor, colleague or team who excels at teaching. Please submit your nominations by the 31st of August 2017.

Applications - CAP staff that are nominated will be invited to prepare an application and apply for the award(s) via a newly created CAP Teaching Awards WATTLE Site. Submissions will be due by the 30th of September 2017. Support and advice will be provided to applicants via workshops and one on one advice sessions. during the application period (details to be provided directly to nominees).

Deliberation- CAP Teaching Awards Committee will meet in October to consider the applications for each award and to determine the awardees.

Notification- Applicants are notified of the award outcomes after the Committee finalises its decisions.

Enquiries- Any enquiries regarding the CAP Teaching Awards can be directed to cap.student@anu.edu.au

ANU Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education

The Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education give recognition to ANU academic and general staff for teaching, supervision and program excellence, and for their contribution to student learning. Where there exists an equivalent Vice-Chancellor's Award, recipients of the CAP level awards will be nominated for them by the ADE when nominations open on the 31st of October 2017.

Australian Awards for University Teaching

The Australian Awards for University Teaching are administered by the Office for Learning and Teaching (OLT). Recipients and nominees of the ANU Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education will be eligible to be nominated by the University for these National Awards. For further details on these awards, please go to the CHELT website, or the OLT Website.

Updated:  24 April, 2017/Responsible Officer:  Dean, ANU College of Asia & the Pacific/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team