ANU College of Asia and the Pacific home to top media performers

08 December 2016

The ANU has honoured its outstanding media performers of 2016 at the annual University media awards.

This year, four awards were given to scholars within ANU College of Asia and the Pacific.

Professor Michael Wesley, College Dean said the awards play an important role in recognising the work of academics who are constantly engaging with the wider community.

“Media engagement is crucial in raising the profile of the College, but more importantly, it’s a powerful way to inform public debate on our region and beyond,” said Professor Wesley.

“Our College performs incredibly well in this space. Everyday our academics are out there on the radio, television or newspapers sharing their expertise”.

“I congratulate not just our winners, but our entire academic community whose knowledge and research is at forefront of the public arena,” said Professor Wesley.

ANU College of Asia and the Pacific 2016 Award Winners

Outreach Award – for Contribution to the Community - Professor Rory Medcalf

The National Security College went, national in November taking some of its experts on the road for a series of successful seminars.

Op-Ed Writer of the Year – Professor Hugh White

Hugh’s piece, China’s Strategy has paid off was published on 23 August 2016 in the New York Times which has earned him the title of Op-Ed Writer of the Year.

Public Policy Award – Professor Peter Drysdale

The landmark Australia-China Joint Economic Report was written with cooperation by the Australian and Chinese Governments. This report mapped out a plan to strengthen the bilateral relationship over the next decade. Professor Peter Drysdale successful ran a series of events, an op-ed and interviews with media in Australia and China.

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Advancing the Reputation of the University through Media – Dr John Blaxland

Dr Blaxland is a model media performer. As well as his research and media engagement, John managed to find time to complete the final book in the History of ASIO series.   

Image: Professor Rory Medcalf receving his Award from Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington.




You must have Javascript enabled to use this form.

Updated:  24 April, 2017/Responsible Officer:  Dean, ANU College of Asia & the Pacific/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team