ANU College of Asia & the Pacific academics recognised for teaching excellence

21 November 2017

Staff at ANU College of Asia & the Pacific have been recognised for their excellence in education in this year’s College Teaching Awards.

College Dean, Professor Michael Wesley, congratulated the winners on their success.

“The standard of applications was very strong and reflected the high standard of teaching within our College. Both internal and external members of the selection committee commended the impressive quality of the teaching in our College,” said Professor Wesley.

This year, awards were distributed across the College in the following categories.

  • Associate Professor Carolyn Hendriks -  Teaching Excellence
  • Professor Renee McKibbin - Excellence in Supervision
  • Associate Professor Steven Cork a Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning
  • Dr Yoko Yonezawa -Excellence in Language Teaching
  • Dr Jane Ferguson, - Excellence in Innovation respectively. Dr Ferguson’s course, ‘Airlines in Asia and the Pacific: Histories, Technologies, Cultures and Geographies’ was praised for its multidisciplinary approach in engaging students
  • Dr Rebecca Gidley - Excellence in Tutoring
  • Honorary Associate Professor Steven Cork - Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

There was also a student-driven award given to the best Wattle Site. The joint winning courses, Spoken Japanese Three (JPNS2013) and Making Foreign Policy (INTR8068), were selected by students from the College because their Wattle sites “enhanced the student learning experience”.

The teaching awards have been handed out annually since 2007, recognising the outstanding work of academics in the College. This year’s awards ceremony will take place this Friday 24 November at 2pm.

By CAP correspondent Dot Mason




You must have Javascript enabled to use this form.

Updated:  24 April, 2017/Responsible Officer:  Dean, ANU College of Asia & the Pacific/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team