College sweeps the Future Fellowships field

27 July 2012

The ANU College of Asia and the Pacific has come away with an impressive haul of seven grants in the annual Australian Research Council’s Future Fellowships.

The College makes up just under half of the 16 fellowships awarded to The Australian National University. College Dean Professor Andrew MacIntyre said the results were spectacular.

“This is a stunning success. In absolute terms, winning seven fellowships is a truly extraordinary result,” said Professor MacIntyre. “And to put it into some perspective, our success rate was 54 per cent compared with 29 per cent for ANU as a whole and 35 per cent across the entire country.

“I want to congratulate each of our thirteen applicants and seven winners. We all recognise how competitive this process is, so even being in serious contention for these fellowships is a strong achievement.

“Along with congratulating all thirteen of our applicants, let me also take this opportunity to congratulate the many people, ranging from the College’s Research Office to the wider networks of reviewers and school advisors, who have contributed to this wonderful result.

“Overall, this success points to the disciplinary and area strengths of the College , as well as how our distinctive focus on the Asia Pacific region really sets us apart as a research and teaching institution both in Australia and across the globe. It is also testament to the outstanding, world-class research and work which our some 200 scholars undertake day-after-day, year-in-year-out.”

The College’s seven 2012 ARC Future Fellows are Professor Edward Aspinall (pictured), Associate Professor Simon Avenell (currently based at the National University of Singapore), Dr Stuart Bedford, Dr Judith Cameron, Professor Mark McLelland (currently based at the University of Wollongong), Dr Marc Oxenham (currently based in the ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences) and Dr Paul Sidwell.




You must have Javascript enabled to use this form.

Updated:  24 April, 2017/Responsible Officer:  Dean, ANU College of Asia & the Pacific/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team