Collection DOC 445 - New Hebrides Condominium Joint Regulations of the New Hebrides: a Consolidated Edition of the Joint Regulations in Force on the 18 October 1973.

Identity area

Reference code



New Hebrides Condominium Joint Regulations of the New Hebrides: a Consolidated Edition of the Joint Regulations in Force on the 18 October 1973.


  • 1907 - 1973 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

2 reels; 35mm microfilm

Context area

Name of creator

Biographical history

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

In 1906 the Governments of France and Britain signed a convention which established joint rule as a Condominium over the New Hebrides (Vanuatu). This was confirmed by the 1914 Protocol Respecting the New Hebrides, ratified in 1922 (see PMB Doc 438). Three laws operated in the New Hebrides during this period of joint administration (1906 -1980): British, French and Condominium. There were thus separate French and British police forces, hospitals and schools. However, other administrative functions, such as the Joint Court (see PMB 1145), finance, land registration, town planning and laws sepcifically covering indigenous New Hebrideans (ni-Vanuatu) were the responsibility of the Condominium. Both France and the United Kingdom appointed Resident Commissioners to govern the New Hebrides by joint regulation. Joint regulations were in effect Condominium laws in lieu of parliamentary legislation issued as decrees by both the French and British Resident Commissioners acting in unison. Joint regulations were made in consultation with the British Western Pacific High Commissioner and the French Governor (later High Commissioner) of New Caldeonia, but they were not subject to any local legislative or parliamentary restraint, despite the appointment of an Advisory Council in 1957. Greater legislative scrutiny of joint regulations was achieved with the formation of a Representative Assembly in 1975 with a majority of elected members. This was strengthened in 1978 when ministerial level internal self-government was attained. However, the Resident Commissioners did not completely lose their ability to rule by joint regulation until the day of their departure on 30 July 1980 when the New Hebrides achieved full independence as the Republic of Vanuatu. See also PMB 1151

See reel list for further details

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Available for reference

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Supreme Court of Vanuatu, Private Mail Bag 041, Port Vila, Vanuatu

Existence and location of copies

Access this title at PMB Member Libraries or by purchasing it directly from the Bureau:

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places