Language placement test

Students with previous ‘language experience or exposure’ are required to take a language placement test to ensure enrolment at the most appropriate level.

Relevant past experience includes:

  • Previous study of the language
  • Being exposed to the language in childhood
  • Travel or living in a country where the language is spoken
  • The language being spoken in your home (even if you don’t speak it)
Language Date/Time/Location Registration

Burmese

Please contact Yuri Takahashi to arrange a suitable placement level in Burmese Language between 14 June and 14 July.

Yuri.Takahashi@anu.edu.au

Cantonese

Please contact Ms. Xiao Yu to arrange a suitable placement in Cantonese Language.


Registrations close 5pm on 21 July.

Xiao.Yu@anu.edu.au

Chinese (Mandarin)

Written and Spoken tests will be held on the 20 July 2017 between 2pm and 4pm in the BPB W121, Baldessin Precinct Building.

Registrations close 5pm on 19 July.

Please register for the Chinese (Mandarin) Language placement test

Indonesian

Please contact Dr Tim Hassall to arrange a suitable placement level in Indonesian Language between 13 June and 14 July.

Timothy.Hassall@anu.edu.au

Japanese

The Japanese placement test will be conducted online. The test will be open between June 23 and July 24.

Please register for the Japanese language placement test

Korean

Please contact Dr Roald Maliangkaij between 23 June and 24 July. Strictly no placement test will be offered after classes start.

Roald.Maliangkay@anu.edu.au

Sanskrit

Please contact Dr McComas to arrange a suitable placement level in Sanskrit Language Taylor between 23 June and 24 July.

Mccomas.Taylor@anu.edu.au

Thai

Please contact Ms. Chintana Sandilands to arrange a suitable placement in Thai Language.

Chintana.Sandilands@anu.edu.au

Vietnamese

Please contact Dr Bao Thai to arrange a suitable placement level in Vietnamese Language between 19 June and 20 July.

Bao.Thai@anu.edu.au

Other Languages

Please contact the CAP Student Centre

cap.student@anu.edu.au

Campus map

Updated:  24 April, 2017/Responsible Officer:  Dean, ANU College of Asia & the Pacific/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team