Professor Darrell Tryon Research Scholarship

Kukundu Village

 Photo taken by James Holman

The Professor Darrell Tryon Research Scholarship was established in 2013 to honour the memory and continue the academic legacy of Professor Darrell Tryon, an eminent scholar of the Australian National University who devoted a distinguished research career to the languages and peoples of the Pacific and who was a great friend of France.

Field of study

Graduate research into the languages and peoples of the Pacific, with a specific reference to the French Pacific.


The French Government will reimburse the return airfare from the home institution to the host institution for each scholar. For the duration of the program the host institution will provide the following benefits:

  • On-campus residential accommodation at no charge.*
  • A monthly stipend equivalent to 1,000 Euros.
  • Office facilities

*Off-campus residential accommodation is not covered.


The exchange program will enable one PhD scholar from ANU to spend 3 months at L’Université de la Nouvelle-Calédonie (University of New Caledonia, UNC) and one PhD scholar from UNC to spend 3 months at ANU, undertaking doctoral study towards the completion of their PhD degree.

Number on offer

Two per year


Applicants must:

  • be enrolled as PhD scholars in good standing in their home institution;
  • be undertaking research in any of the fields of study belonging to the Social Sciences and Humanities, including the Arts, with preference given to PhD scholars working on topics related to the Asia-Pacific region including Australia; and
  • be able to travel to the host university at the time agreed for the duration of the program.

Although it is not a requirement, it is recommended that applicants have a working understanding of French (for those applying to go to New Caledonia) and English (for those applying to go to Australia).

Selection basis

Selection will be based upon:

  • academic merit
  • research quality; and
  • the capacity of the host universities to support the research nominated by the applicants.

The top two applicants will receive the scholarship offer, with the order of merit to serve as a reserve list in the event that an applicant is unable to accept an offer.

Conditions of Award [PDF 123kB]


Applications for the 2015 round will be open until 30 June 2015. By 30 June 2015, applicants will need to:

Further information

For further information contact




Updated:  24 April, 2017/Responsible Officer:  Dean, ANU College of Asia & the Pacific/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team