On 18-19 July 2024, the Department of International Relations is hosting a two-day symposium in honour of its 75th anniversary. 

The overarching theme of the symposium is “Towards a Different IR?”. Across these two days, we are inviting members of Australia’s International Relations community to join us as we explore a range of topics central to IR, including order, ethics, diplomacy, history, and peace and conflict through interactive dialogues and with an eye to future directions in scholarship shaping the discipline. We will be joined by speakers – established and emerging - from across the ANU, Australia, and abroad.

We are pleased to welcome Professor Neta Crawford, Montague Burton Professor of International Relations at the University of Oxford, as our keynote speaker. Click here for details and to register for the keynote address. 

Speakers at the symposium will include:

  • Amy King (Strategic & Defence Studies Centre, ANU)
  • Anna Naupa (School of Culture, History and Language, ANU)
  • Babatunde Obamamoye (Department of International Relations, ANU)
  • Bina D’Costa (Department of International Relations, ANU)
  • Cecilia Jacob (Department of International Relations, ANU)
  • Dahlia Simangan (Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Hiroshima University)
  • Deepak Nair (Department of International Relations, ANU)
  • Evelyn Goh (Strategic & Defence Studies Centre, ANU)
  • Graeme Smith (Department of Pacific Affairs, ANU)
  • George Carter (Department of Pacific Affairs, ANU)
  • Joanne Wallis (Department of Politics and International Relations, University of Adelaide)
  • Jope Tarai (Department of Pacific Affairs, ANU)
  • Lana Tatour (School of Social Sciences, University of New South Wales)
  • Lia Kent (School of Regulation and Global Governance, ANU)
  • Michael Varnay (Department of International Relations, ANU)
  • Miriam Deprez (School of Humanities, Languages and Social Science, Griffith University)
  • Naosuke Mukoyama (Institute for Future Initiatives, University of Tokyo)
  • James Blackwell (Department of International Relations, ANU)
  • Ntina Tzouvala (College of Law, ANU)
  • Roland Bleiker (School of Political Science & International Studies, University of Queensland)
  • Sandra Tarte (School of Law and Social Sciences, University of South Pacific)
  • Sarah Dunstan (School of Humanities, University of Glasgow)
  • Sundhya Pahuja (Melbourne Law School, University of Melbourne)
  • Tomoko Akami (School of Culture, History and Language, ANU)
  • Vasuki Nesiah (Gallatin School of Individualized Study, New York University)


This symposium celebrates the 75th anniversary of the founding of the Department of International Relations, located within the Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs at The Australian National University. You can find more information about the Department’s history and the other activities being held to mark the anniversary throughout 2024 here.

If you require accessibility accommodations or a visitor Personal Emergency Evacuation Plan please contact bell.marketing@anu.edu.au.




In Person


Hedley Bull Building

Related academic area